Converted into a hotel in 1960, enlarged and redecorated in 1972, the Château de Creissels has a rich history. It is the oldest hotel in Millau and could tell many stories if its walls could tell what they have seen. The castle goes back to a high antiquity, an act of 801 making mention of it. But it was Henri II who built the castle in the 12th century in order to live in it. Then, great families of France succeeded one another among the owners. The 1st Viscount of Creissels, Raimond de Roquefeuil is none other than an ancestor of the rich Rockefeller. The Château was owned by the French Crown from 1589 (the accession of Henri IV, known as "The Great") until 1628, when King Louis XIII, known as "The Just", donated it to private individuals.
Since then, this residence has often been passed on by women. Over the centuries, the building has undergone many transformations. However, the living room, the library, the reception, the restaurant rooms (former guard rooms) and the parapet walk constitute the oldest parts of the castle dating from the 12th century. The square tower was built in the 19th century, after the fire of 1814, which destroyed two thirds of the building. The ramparts were built on the terrace to hide the ruins of the part affected by the fire. Throughout these years, the Château welcomed many personalities, including two bishops who, in the 19th century, had their family home there, and whose eponymous room has been preserved with its period furniture. More recently, the great lyric artist Emma Calvé stayed there and left many memories. A more precise history is available on request at the reception. So don't hesitate to stay at the Château de Creissels, the Millau hotel with the most history.